MT5 tick and bar data - do you need both?

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.
Post Reply
machtucker
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 06, 2022 3:53 pm

MT5 tick and bar data - do you need both?

Post by machtucker »

Hi,

In your MT5 download tutorial videos you download both 1 min bar data and tick data. You then load this into an MT5 custom symbol. My question is if you want to just test using tick data do you need to load the 1min OHLC bar data? My guess is no you don't but if you can confirm that would be great.

Many thanks,

Ed

tickstory
Posts: 4969
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: MT5 tick and bar data - do you need both?

Post by tickstory »

Hi Ed,

According to the MT5 help file, you need to load both the tick data and the 1-minute data. All the other charting time-frames are built from the 1-minute data.

Hope this helps.

machtucker
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 06, 2022 3:53 pm

Re: MT5 tick and bar data - do you need both?

Post by machtucker »

Thanks, I will look into it.

Also,

When exporting data I'd like to be able to select multiple symbols by Ctrl-click and then download All available data for each symbol. Unless I am mistaken at the moment if I try this I get the amount of available data for the first symbol I select.

Also, is there anywhere I can specify the default download directory?

Thanks,

Ed

tickstory
Posts: 4969
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: MT5 tick and bar data - do you need both?

Post by tickstory »

Hi Ed,

At the moment, selecting multiple downloads will mean that you download for the specific dates set in the "From" and "To".

There is unfortunately no option to set the default download folder at the moment, however if you are using the File Export dialog, it will save the settings of your last file specification.

Hope this helps.

Post Reply