Some suggestion to put you put you head and shoulders above.

Have some interesting ideas about how to improve the software? Let us know in this section!
coffeesnob

Some suggestion to put you put you head and shoulders above.

Post by coffeesnob »

Hi Tickstory, I would have PMed you rather than put these suggestions in the thread but it seems this isn't allowed on my profile, I think this is information you should read before putting it in the public domain but as this isn't an option the public domain it is.

I really love what your trying to do here.. I love the concept; however I think you have a long way to go to make it a product that would be worth singing about. Tick data for hard-core back testing is a problem, and I think your product is currently the best around however given the bar is so low this isn’t a great achievement yet…

A bit about me, I am a communications engineer and I work in software development, I am also a trader and I have developed a number of tools of my own, I am frustrated by the huge gaps that are still in the market around back testing, tick data is one part but to have a really good standalone back tester in my view is really required.
There are a few developers close but they aren’t there yet. So anyway, in the case of tick story I think your heading the right direction but I want to make some suggestions so you can continue to build the best product around and hopefully you can make some money from it (if this is really great you should charge for it).

So here are some suggestions that I think would make your product something I would pay money for. :D

I know you have said that you are planning to have the database updated “live” and in real time. But honestly I think this is not required and would introduce more problems than you would like to solve.