backtest not complete

Report any bugs with the Tickstory Lite software here. Please give as much detail as possible so the issue can be identified and resolved as soon as possible.

backtest not complete

Postby DOGFight » Wed May 01, 2013 4:23 am

i export data to mt4 from 1/04/2008 to 28/04/2013
but ,backtest is stoped to 2013.05.01 09:55:35 2011.10.24 06:12 *censored ea name* EURUSD,M1: *censored ea name* has been deinitialized!

pls help
thanks
DOGFight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 3:06 am

Re: backtest not complete

Postby tickstory » Wed May 01, 2013 10:27 pm

Hi Dogfight,

The issue you are seeing is due to a limitation that MT4 has with not supporting databases (FXT files) greater than 4GB. At the moment, so you have a few choices to workaround the issue:

- Break your back-test down into say yearly exports.
- Turn on the "filter duplicate ticks" option - this will reduce the size of the database allowing you to test a longer period.
- Use Tick Data Suite (a third-party product) which supports > 4GB FXT files. (You can find out more here: http://eareview.net/tick-data-suite?hop=referrer9)

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: backtest not complete

Postby DOGFight » Thu May 16, 2013 4:53 am

thanks for your help :)

regard
DOGFight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 3:06 am

Re: backtest not complete

Postby tickstory » Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:31 am

Please note: MT4 maximum FXT file size is now up to 4GB.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: backtest not complete

Postby sam123 » Thu May 01, 2014 1:07 pm

Since each file size is >4gb in my FXT folder and I need to reduce the size of each file - Should I redownload/export from the begining or is there a way to reduce the size of each file by using shorter period of data?
I.e: I downloaded with TS Lite data from 1.1.2005 up to date. Can I use this data from say 1.1.2008, thus reduce fxt file size, or should I set it from the begining and re-download again?
sam123
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 5:26 am

Re: backtest not complete

Postby tickstory » Thu May 01, 2014 11:25 pm

Hi Sam123,

Just select "Export to MT4" and select a shorter date range of say 2013-2014 (1 year). You can also select "Filter duplicate ticks" to make the file smaller. Tickstory will then automatically re-generate the FXT files for this date range and when complete just check the FXT files are less than 4GB. (If not, you will need to repeat the process with a shorter date range again).

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: backtest not complete

Postby andrzejw » Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:31 pm

Hello,

I have similiar problem as DOGfight. I have exported data to MT4 from 25/03/2014 to 24/03/2015 and backtest stops on 13/08/2014 15:09 (that's daily interval).
The fxt data size is 1.57GB. When I change interval on lower then simulation ends even earlier.

What happens? What can I do?

Best regards
andrzejw
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:10 pm

Re: backtest not complete

Postby tickstory » Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:38 am

Hi Andrzejw,

It doesn't sound like the 4GB limitation is causing your problem. Your other thread on this topic has been answered here:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=631&p=2848

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am


Return to Issue/Bug tracking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 23 guests