Time frame issues

Report any bugs with the Tickstory Lite software here. Please give as much detail as possible so the issue can be identified and resolved as soon as possible.
Post Reply
ekke
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:53 am

Time frame issues

Post by ekke »

Hi Every one
I am using DukasCopy data for my backtesting
After downloading DukasCopy data I export it into MT4 at GMT(0)
My broker (GlobalPrime) runs currently at GMT (+3)
So my backtesting is done in GMT (0) if I understand this correctly.
I believe that MT4 becomes the server for the historic data
If I compare live data from GP with the backtest data used by my EA
the candles have exactly the same time labels. I have no explanation for this.
The backtest show the same results with MT4 either on or off line.
I have attached a pic to illustrate this.
My EA is supposed to drop all trades 5 mins before midnight to get around swaps.
Has anybody an explanation for this. What do I miss here?

Thank you
ekke
Attachments
Candles.jpg

tickstory
Posts: 4410
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Time frame issues

Post by tickstory »

Hi Ekke,

It's not clear exactly what the issue is - is it that that your EA is not dropping trades at the nominated time? Did you try trace through the code in MT4 Strategy Tester's visual mode?

Cheers.

ekke
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:53 am

Re: Time frame issues

Post by ekke »

Sorry if I did not make myself clear. The issue is that likewise candles have the same time in both pics.
That should not be if the test time frame is GMT (0) and the life time frame is GMT(+3)
The top pic is the one in test mode
The bottom pic is GP live

thanks for any enlightenment

Post Reply