New user help with MT4 Back-testing

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.
csimpson503

New user help with MT4 Back-testing

Post by csimpson503 »

Hi
I have bought tickstory V 1.6. I run Win vista with metatrader 4 build 840. I’ve watched you tube clips read forums and I just can’t get the system to work. Does V 1.6 work with 840?
I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong. I’ve saved metatrader and tickstory on C:\User instead of C:\Program Files. When in tickstory and I Export to MT4 it seems to do that part ok, I then launch metatrader through tickstory and go to history centre. When I try and browse for the exported files the folders are empty, if I go through the start menu in windows until I get to metatrader folder the exported files are there. Why is this? I’m new to all of this and would be grateful for some advice.
My end goal is to build my own EA and test it but I’m struggling with the first hurdle.

tickstory

Re: New user help with MT4 Back-testing

Post by tickstory »

Hi Csimpson503,

Welcome aboard. Please check the following to ensure you are exporting to the correct location:

1) Start MT4 via Tickstory - make sure you do not log into your terminal, otherwise data you have exported from Tickstory could be overwritten by data obtained from your broker.
1) In File->Settings, ensure you have selected the correct MT4 Installation folder (should be in C:\Users). Once you have selected the installation folder, Tickstory will automatically set the "MT4 Data Folder".
2) In MT4, select File->Open Data Folder and make sure the folder that is opened corresponds with that set in Tickstory.
3) Perform your export for the selected symbol & date-range (Note: If you are exporting a symbol such as EURUSD, this symbol must match your MT4 symbol. If it does not, you will need to "Map To" the corresponding MT4 symbol. See below for more).
4) You should now be able to see the data when you open a chart.