how to know data souce during the BT

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.
craneliu_2014

how to know data souce during the BT

Post by craneliu_2014 »

Dear Sir,

I am new to tickstory.
recently I am trying to BT the EA. This EA is bonded with MT4 account No. that meant that I have to log in my MT4 account with account No. and Password first, then I can start the backtest. otherwise this EA will not work during the BT.
I did the following steps for the BT, but not successful finally
1) exported the data from tickstory to MT4 (MT4 folder configuration successfully, and the lancher command line is empty, MAP the GBPUSD to "GBPUSD." which is used by STO broker)
2) Launched MT4 from Tickstory
3) MT4 login with MT4 account and password
4) started the strategy tester for BT
5) BT was succefully finished (only 10 days for testing purpose)

But the problem is this test results was based on the historical data from history center. what's wrong?

1) before lanching the MT4 from Tickstory I have delete all data from history center, when I log in, the history center updated automatically, how to disable the history center for automatically update?
2) when I do BT, how do I know the data source? this tickstory data also shows in history center?

kindly please advise how to do the BT for my case.

Really Appreciate!

Crane

tickstory

Re: how to know data souce during the BT

Post by tickstory »

Hi CraneLiu,

This post appears to be a duplicate of your previous question here: http://tickstory.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=536.

To answer your questions:

1) Try marking the HST files as 'read-only' if you need to log in. This hopefully will prevent any updates from the broker's server.
2) If you get a 99.9% modelling quality in your back-testing results, you will know that MT4 has used the exported tick data correctly.

Hope this answers you questions.

craneliu_2014

Post by craneliu_2014 »

Hi Tickstory team,

Thank you very much for the advice!