mt4 launch issue build 1370

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.
tickstory
Posts: 4855
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: mt4 launch issue build 1370

Post by tickstory »

Hi Seocalif,

Please provide the following screenshots:

1) The Tickstory "Export to MT4" settings you are using (including the "MT4 Settings" tab)
2) The MT4 Strategy Tester window (which shows the symbol name)
3) Your "MT4 Data Folder" FXT contents (go to File->Open data folder in Metatrader and then browse to tester/history and take a screenshot).
4) The 'Report' tab in the Strategy Tester (which shows the modelling quality).
5) The Strategy Tester "Journal" tab after you have completed a back-test.

Thanks.

seocalif
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 4:30 pm

Re: mt4 launch issue build 1370

Post by seocalif »

tickstory wrote:
Thu Jan 26, 2023 10:34 pm
Hi Seocalif,

Please provide the following screenshots:

1) The Tickstory "Export to MT4" settings you are using (including the "MT4 Settings" tab)
2) The MT4 Strategy Tester window (which shows the symbol name)
3) Your "MT4 Data Folder" FXT contents (go to File->Open data folder in Metatrader and then browse to tester/history and take a screenshot).
4) The 'Report' tab in the Strategy Tester (which shows the modelling quality).
5) The Strategy Tester "Journal" tab after you have completed a back-test.

Thanks.
Okey here they are
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

tickstory
Posts: 4855
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: mt4 launch issue build 1370

Post by tickstory »

Hi Seocalif,

Thanks for the screenshots. It appears that your export details are correct, however you might want to check the start of the tester journal. It should have a comment saying that the "fxt file is read-only". If it does not, you might want to check your exported FXT files to make sure they have been correctly marked as "read-only" in Windows Explorer. (right-click the GERMAN305_0.fxt file and select Properties).

After your back-test, if there is a new file of a different file size to your original screenshot, then this means your files are not marked as read-only for some reason. If there is no new FXT file that was created by MT4, then you will need to locate the folder where MT4 is writing the FXT file as this would indicate you have either selected the wrong terminal or server name for back-testing.

Thanks.

seocalif
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2023 4:30 pm

Re: mt4 launch issue build 1370

Post by seocalif »

tickstory wrote:
Fri Jan 27, 2023 10:05 pm
Hi Seocalif,

Thanks for the screenshots. It appears that your export details are correct, however you might want to check the start of the tester journal. It should have a comment saying that the "fxt file is read-only". If it does not, you might want to check your exported FXT files to make sure they have been correctly marked as "read-only" in Windows Explorer. (right-click the GERMAN305_0.fxt file and select Properties).

After your back-test, if there is a new file of a different file size to your original screenshot, then this means your files are not marked as read-only for some reason. If there is no new FXT file that was created by MT4, then you will need to locate the folder where MT4 is writing the FXT file as this would indicate you have either selected the wrong terminal or server name for back-testing.

Thanks.
when the GERMAN305_0 is marked as read only in the properties and i try to run the strategy tester i get this error messages:
Image

tickstory
Posts: 4855
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: mt4 launch issue build 1370

Post by tickstory »

Hi Seocalif,

Please check out these threads for the "cannot calculate prices" issue. In essence, it is usually caused by your exported symbol settings being incorrect in some way. Selecting the correct symbol from the "Map to" will usually rectify the issue.

Thanks.

Post Reply