Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

General discussion about the Tickstory Lite software package.

Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby daxtrader » Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:51 pm

hello,

i wanna backtest my ea but it dont work. it says: tester cannot calculate prices
i see already an forum of it and it says that i should change the P. calc mode to 1. i did that but then shows up other errors but it work but not good. al the transactions are directly closed after open them.
maybe the settings are not good? i use default settings. somebody know the solution?

Thanks
daxtrader
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:45 pm

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby tickstory » Tue Apr 05, 2016 3:25 am

Hi Daxtrader,

Have you checked out this thread which specifically deals with getting DAX30 to work correctly:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=829

Thanks.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3252
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby daxtrader » Tue Apr 05, 2016 3:35 am

yeah but it says this in terminal:

2016.04.05 05:34:27.940 TestGenerator: file "C:\Users\leand\AppData\Roaming\MetaQuotes\Terminal\76AE827A66F7801B9D79B1FD1D2103FD\tester\history\[DAX30]1_0.fxt" cannot open [5]
2016.04.05 05:34:27.938 TestGenerator: file "C:\Users\leand\AppData\Roaming\MetaQuotes\Terminal\76AE827A66F7801B9D79B1FD1D2103FD\tester\history\[DAX30]1_0.fxt" is read-only
daxtrader
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:45 pm

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby tickstory » Tue Apr 05, 2016 3:48 am

Hi Daxtrader,

This thread discusses all the reasons we know so far for the 'cannot open [5]" error occurring:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=980&hilit=cannot+open

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3252
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby daxtrader » Tue Apr 05, 2016 10:25 am

i tried literally everything multiple times...can you use teamviewer to look at it?
daxtrader
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:45 pm

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby tickstory » Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:58 am

Hi Daxtrader,

We unfortunately don't provide remote assistance as a matter of course. Note that this error is due to insufficient data or incorrect settings being used on your export. Can you please confirm that you are exporting more than 3 months of data and also that you have used the following method to get the MT4 Settings for your DAX Symbol:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=809&hilit=mt4+settings

It is important to ensure that your MT4 Settings are matching your broker and the above method will help you cross-check all the settings completely.

Hope this helps.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3252
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby daxtrader » Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:05 pm

Ok thanks i will do that, but one thing i am not sure about, your intial deposit you need give in manually? because it says 0 but on my account is it not 0
daxtrader
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:45 pm

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby daxtrader » Tue Apr 05, 2016 2:00 pm

ok thanks it works now! but the journal says everytime fxt is read only, and you can set that off in tickstory. what is the fuction of fxt read only?
daxtrader
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 11:45 pm

Re: Dax30 historical data need for backtesting dont work

Postby tickstory » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:40 pm

Hi Daxtrader,

Great to hear it's working! You should set your initial deposit for back-testing in the Strategy Tester by going to Expert Properties->Testing->Initial deposit.
The 'make FXT read-only' should be set to 'yes' - without it, MT4 will try overwrite the FXT files with its own data which is not what you want.

Regards.
tickstory
 
Posts: 3252
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:27 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron